CrossFit Bootcamp


By: Anne McCaslin Parker

I tried a CrossFit bootcamp with some of my sorority sisters. They have been going for a few weeks and convinced me to go with them yesterday.

Honestly my expectations were not as high as they should have been. I am pretty set in my ways when it comes to working out and I typically like to be on my own schedule.

However, this was the hardest workout I have ever done and it only lasted about 30 minutes!!!

We did:
15 minute warm up
50 Russian Twists (side to side ab move with 10 pound medicine balls)
50 wall-balls (squat and throw a 10 pound medicine ball above your head to hit the wall, catch it, squat again)
100 lounges
25 tricep dips
50 wall-balls
100 lounges
50 russian twists

The science behind why the workout is so short is because the trainers at CrossFit believe the shorter amount of time you spend on your workout, the more energy you are able to exert and the more effective it is.

I would recommend this place to anyone. It is right by SMU next to homebar. Not only is it convenient, I was there at 6:30 a.m. and out by 7:20 a.m. I don’t know about you, but I hate feeling like I wasted my day away by spending hours at the gym.I loved every minute of it even though I am going to be so sore tomorrow. It was great bonding time with my friends too. I will definitely be back for more next week!

Leave a comment