Back at the gym

Although accustomed to the journalism school, class and everything Panhellenic, I decided to take a break from my daily routine and took advantage of the free Group X classes Dedman offered this week. Actually, a friend and I decided this past weekend that not working out wasn’t working out, and it was time for a change.

Because both of us are busy with various activities, we decided our best bet was to go to the 30-minute abdominal workout class. “Core to the Max.” Sounds intimidating, but I thought to myself, how hard could it really be?

As a former dancer, I came to college in keen shape but as I was reminded this week, it’s been four long years. The workout on Tuesday left me sweaty but feeling good about myself. It can only get better from here, right?  I was proven wrong.

The next day I woke up with sore arms and a sore neck. Later in the day, my friend and I swapped text messages about our agony but were proud of our accomplishments. It can only get better. It can only get better. Although we knew our soreness was most likely a sign we were doing some of the workouts incorrectly (example, when we incorporated the bosu ball) it didn’t stop us.

Yesterday we sucked it up and did the class again. As I walked in the door, I recognized some familiar faces from Monday’s class. The instructor motivated the large class of females (and two males) with upbeat music and words of encouragement.

I realize that 30 minutes of abdominal workout may not seem like anything, but from what I could tell, everyone in the class left in a sweat. Although I only have one more free “Core to the Max” class left (on Friday), I will certainly be buying the Group X pass. Unlimited classes, not including water fitness, for $70? Who wouldn’t jump on the bandwagon?

I’ve realized these past three days is it is very important to take time out of your day to exercise. Although in this weather you may break a sweat walking to class, this one will be worth the money.

This blog post was written by Meredith Carlton.

Leave a Reply

